Unclogging the blog: when less is more.

Love the Mark Twain quote: “I didn’t have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a long one instead.” Great blog by loreelepage.

lorellepage

This is my favourite quote at the moment. It resonates with me for two reasons. One, I’ve been having trouble writing my blog, and two, I have been working on my 140 character pitch.

Last week, I tried for two hours to write on two different topics and ended going on so many tangents, ‘writing young adult at thirty-nine’ almost became, ‘writing young adult at forty.’

When I started this blog, it took me a week to decide that I was going to stick to my conversational, article writing style. Give people a message, take them on a journey from the beginning and wrap it all in a neat bow at the end so people could say, “Ah, so that’s where she was going with that.” What I’ve found, though, is that it’s becoming increasingly difficult to keep this up. And on top of that, was I making this too…

View original post 112 more words

Leave a Reply

