My Life Is Like An Open Book… Conquering Your Fear Of Publishing Your Work

“…great love and great achievements involve great risks.” Well said. Thank you so much for posting these awesome words, Emmy. Peace and love to you, Kat Kent.

emmyyoshida

Open book on black

Publishing a book is like opening your heart and mind to the world; one of my biggest fears before I published Corrupted was the vulnerability I would feel at having my work scrutinised. This was amplified because the book is partly based on my experiences as an exotic dancer; a time in my life that many people did not previously know anything about, including my father, who is Japanese and has very traditional beliefs and values.

After a lot of procrastination I finally decided to take the leap of faith and put my work out there for the world to see. After countless rejections from literary agents and a chance meeting at my writer’s group I decided to self-publish my novel, one of the best decisions I have ever made!

It was a long time before I deemed my work worthy enough to be read. I edited my work incessantly…

View original post 597 more words

Leave a Reply

