5 Things Nobody Tells You About a Writing Career

Awesome advice from someone who’s been there! Thank you for the great post. Cheers. Kat.

A Writer's Path

Business

When I published my first short story in Redbook after winning a prize, I thought my career was set.  I was my MFA program’s star (that year, anyway); I’d made a lot of money for a graduate student through the prize and the magazine; I was getting fan mail and queries from agents.  But even though I’d spent over two years in the program, nobody told me what my career could be like.  When I got my degree I was completely ignorant of key aspects of the writing life, with no idea what was ahead of me.  I learned five key things the hard way.

View original post 848 more words

Leave a Reply

