My new poem: Unfamiliar Waters by Kat Kent. (Photo by Paanha Netpoba) #amwriting #poetry #writerslife

Unfamiliar Waters by Kat Kent

 There is nothing more I want than to understand.

I look here, there and everywhere for the answers that evade me.

As a young starry-eyed, I failed to comprehend,

I feel cold and I’m safe in less than what I could be.

 

A calm harbor is not what I am meant for

Eyes on the tide, I set my sights on new discoveries

I write stories like a sailor on a ship

Come sail away with me.

 

I cut the anchors that bind

I’ve pulled the sails wide and higher

The shore falls far behind

The night flickers above and I’m on deeper water.

 

A place exists where it’s clearer.

I believe in the mermaids guiding my ship into Atlantis.

I’m a sailor in the unfamiliar

I take chances.

 

I’ve sailed into the arms of an open sea

In a heart that beats brand new

Lost in an imagination set free

Help me find it; a world safe inside the blue.

 

I’m an explorer, a captain’s daughter

I found my true side beneath an uncertain sky

I feel warmer in deeper water

Please, come join me in the unfamiliar.

1. Unfamiliar Waters

Leave a Reply

